Ghanaian General Election - 7 December 2016

"Presidential Candidates Over 16 people had filed with the election commission to run for president. However, over 12 presidential candidates were disqualified due to incorrect filling procedures. Some of the disqualified candidates include former first lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings and president of the National Democratic Party. There was some controversy that the candidates were disqualified due to political gain. The Electoral Commission has denied all accusations. After the disqualification, only four presidential candidates remained. Ivor Greenstreet from the Convention People's Party is also the first physically challenged candidate to contest the presidential election."


Electoral system

The president is elected using the two-round system, whilst the 275 members of Parliament will be elected in single-member constituencies using first-past-the-post voting.
Eligible voters must be Ghanaian citizens who are at least 18 years old, although those declared insane are disenfranchised. Parliamentary candidates must be Ghanaian citizens at least 21 years old, and either be resident in their constituency or have lived there for at least five of the ten years prior to the election.

John Dramani Mahama

Nana Akufo-Addo